Dinner / Food

Mozzarella Stuffed Tomatoes

Mozzarella Stuffed Tomatoes

Okay…I know, I know, it’s ANOTHER tomato recipe.  We are closing out the gardening season though and tomatoes are always on the menu!  This recipe is super easy and super yummy.  I created it back when I was in college, you know when easy and quick meals are priority number one.  I used to make it in the microwave back then (hello healthy dorm food).  Nowadays I turn these tomatoes into the star of a meal by serving them alongside rice and kale with pine nuts.  The key to this recipes success is using big beautiful and garden fresh tomatoes.  So go ahead, go grab one from the garden..and lets make something tasty!

First preheat your oven 375° (I use a convection setting, but that isn’t necessary).  Next clean your tomatoes and slice open the top 1/4 of the tomato.  Using a paring knife, gently remove the cores.  Arrange in a baking dish so they won’t fall over.

core the tomatoes

I personally like to add a little extra flavor kick, so I add about 1 1/2 tsp of Pesto into the center hole.

IMG_9812Next add about 1/4 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese into each tomato.  For even more flavor, add a sprinkle of garlic powder and/or oregano onto the top of the cheese.

Add cheese to the tomatoesBake for 20-30 minutes – until the cheese is thoroughly melted and starting to brown.  Let stand for a couple minutes and then gently lift out of the dish with tongs.  *If you want to use the microwave – cook on high for 1-2 minutes.

melted and yummy tomatoes

Serve alone for a yummy snack, or with a meal.  These beautiful tomatoes are sure to please the whole family.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Mozzarella Stuffed Tomatoes

Comments are closed.