Food / Recipes

Chimichurri – a Parsley Sauce with a Kick

ChimichurriEvery time I visit my parent’s farm I come home with a trunk load of fresh garden produce.  One of my favorite “steals” this summer has been their parsley.  I grew a single plant of parsley this year at home, but I have since discovered chimichurri and my single plant wasn’t generating enough for me to indulge.  Chimichurri is a classic sauce and marinade from Argentina originally meant to be used as a condiment with grilled beef.   Similar to pesto, this herb mixture is a vegan stunner and can be used to brighten up many different foods.  Also, like pesto, there are many variations and options with this sauce.  My chimichurri has a spicy cayenne kick to it, which you can adjust to taste.   Argentinians tend to serve chimichurri with additional olive oil, creating a thinner liquid like dipping sauce.  The recipe here is a base concentrate which can be used as is or thinned with more olive oil depending on your needs.   You can store directly in the refrigerator or, again like pesto, you can make large batches and then use ice cube trays to store the chimichurri in small servings that can be used as needed.  I highly recommend using this flavorful and bright sauce as a marinade for meat, tofu, fish, or even as a spread or dipping sauce for bread, potatoes or veggies.  Let your imagination run wild and kick up your meals a notch with chimichurri!

Makes approximately 3/4 cup of concentrated sauce.

4 cups of Parsley (flat leaf or curly), washed and de-stemmed

2 cloves of Garlic, peeled

3 TBS of fresh Oregano 

1/2 tsp of Salt

1/2 tsp of Black Pepper

1/2 tsp of Cayenne Pepper (Red Pepper flakes or fresh hot peppers can be substituted)

2 TBS of Red Wine Vinegar

3 TBS of Olive Oil*

Place all ingredients in the food processor and blend until chopped and mixed evenly.  Enjoy!

For long term storage, use ice cube trays to freeze 2 TBS cubes that can be de-frosted as needed.  I detailed this process here.

*For use as a dipping sauce whisk in additional olive oil until the desired consistency.  For 2 TBS of prepared chimichurri I would add another 2-3 TBS of olive oil.

Chimichurri Consistencies

7 thoughts on “Chimichurri – a Parsley Sauce with a Kick

  1. Hello! I really enjoy your blog and look forward to receiving it. All the best, Kaky Mullen

  2. Pingback: Grateful for the Harvest – a Fall Garden Update | Yonder Wild

  3. Thanks, Rachel– I was just looking at the thermometer then looking at all the parsley in my planter boxes & thinking “gotta do something with that parsley today”. Now I know what to do!

Comments are closed.