Food / The Basics

Pickled Cucumbers – the Condiment that Preserves

Pickled Cucumbers

I have a confession, I try my best to like all foods…but there are a few that I just don’t jive with.  Imagine being a vegetarian who doesn’t like mushrooms…when I go to a restaurant it’s basically like “Hi, I am a jerk.  Here are all my special requests.”   Pickles have also been on my “no list” my whole life.  I like pickled foods (some of them I even like A LOT), but dill pickles, pickle relish, bread and butters (you get the picture) haven’t ever worked for me.  I know that tastes change over time, so every now and then I re-try things to see where I am at. Recently, after a lifelong aversion, I can proudly report that I have overcome and even embraced mustard; so there is hope for pickles yet!  This recipe is the closest I have come. The mellow acidity isn’t overbearing and you can make variations to suit your own needs.   Plus, pickled cucumbers are a great way to put to use all those cucumbers from your garden before they spoil!  (This would be great recipe for canning too.)  These cucumbers are a wonderful condiment for everything from salads to sandwiches, Middle Eastern meals and even Asian stir fry dishes.

This is a base recipe; double it, triple it, whatever works for you.  I personally love to add tomatoes too.  You can pickle lots of different veggies with this simple combination.  You can also switch out the dill for other herbs of your choice.  Make a batch and then experiment to see what you your favorite mixture is!

1 Cucumber, sliced thin

1/2 cup Onion, shaved very thin

1/2 cup Water

1/2 cup White Vinegar

1/4 tsp Dill

1/8 tsp Back Pepper

3 tsp Sugar

3/4 tsp Salt

Add all ingredients into a bowl and mix.  Store in a covered container in the refrigerator for up to a month.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Pickled Cucumbers – the Condiment that Preserves

  1. Pingback: Grateful for the Harvest – a Fall Garden Update | Yonder Wild

Comments are closed.