Life

8 Years Ago Today…

Bride & Groom

8 Years ago today I married my best friend.  We celebrated with family and friends in beautiful outdoor ceremony overlooking a lake and the gardens at a rustic inn in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina.  It was a gorgeous day and the party was wonderful!  8 years later we remain best friends and firmly committed to our life together.  We have faced trials and tribulations as well as joys and celebrations.  Our son is the light of our life and a firm resolution of why our family matters.  So *cheers* to our life together honey.  Our wedding was just a beautiful start to a journey I would take with you again and again.

*Since I wasn’t blogging back when I married – I thought I would share a very abridged version of our wedding details.*

116

Beautiful country features were scattered throughout the property. We attached ribbons in fuchsia and orange to everything we could! When the light breeze blew it looked like a fairy tale.

Bouquet

Our colors were bright and colorful and inspired by Indian wedding palettes – Fuchsia and Orange with Lavender accents. We used seasonal flowers like peonies, dahlias, and especially roses!

Bridesmaids

The girls dresses (actually skirt and halter) were made of an irridesent dupioni silk that was orange with fuchsia cross threading. The sunlight gave the most amazing color effect when they walked. We all wore a flower in our hair as well. We wore flip flop wedges for the ceremony in the grass.

Groomsmen

The guys wore traditional tuxes with champagne colored ties and vests. Our lovely groomswoman had her dress made for her based on the shape of the bridesmaid dresses and with a tuxedo style jacket.

My wedding dress was a long, off white strapless lace dress with a sweetheart neckline.  I wore my Mother's wedding veil which was also long with a lace details around the edge.  I made my own jewelry - a teardrop crystal necklace on clear fishing line and matching earrings.  I also wore my Grandmother's ring.  For the ceremony I bustled the train, put on strappy heels, and removed the veil.

My wedding dress was a long, off white, strapless lace dress with a sweetheart neckline. I wore my Mother’s wedding veil, which was also long with a lace details around the edge. I made my own jewelry – a teardrop crystal necklace on clear string and matching earrings. I also wore my Grandmother’s ring. For the ceremony I bustled the train, put on strappy heels, and removed the veil.

Ceremony Aisle

The ceremony was on a hill overlooking a lake. We brought our own arch that was covered with roses, flowers, ribbons, twigs and vines. (That arch is now in our backyard covered with roses that bloom at our anniversary every year!) There were scattered rose petals to form the aisle and every couple of rows had shepherd hooks with ribbons that danced in the breeze.

Ceremony close up

A close up of us at the arch. You can see the lake in background.

Birds Nest Wreath

We had birds, ribbons and roses on everything! Two of these flanked the doors on the entrance to the “Grand Ole Hall” where the reception was held.

Poppies in the garden

The Hall overlooked the property’s expansive organic gardens. Most of the food served that evening came out of the gardens.

Bird Placecards

We made origami style bird cutouts and placed ribbons in their mouths with guests name and table assignments. Later guests hung the birds (by their scroll) into the twig table centerpieces and it gave a playful effect of birds coming to next all over the hall.

Peacocks roam the property at will and this one joined guests on the deck overlooking the gardens during Happy Hour.

Peacocks roam the property at will and this one joined guests on the deck overlooking the gardens during Happy Hour.

Centerpieces

I found these antique postcards of birds carrying the ribbons out of a bouquet and I used the computer to turn them into table number cards. The base of the centerpiece were birds nests filled with roses. Rising out of the nests were curly twigs that we hung crystal pendants from. (later the guests hung there bird place cards here as well)

Place cards hang from the centerpieces creating whimsy.

Place cards hang from the centerpieces creating whimsy.

Tablescape

We used more pink and orange with the table linens and they were accented nicely with the gold chairs. On each plate was a box that read “It was sweet of you to join us” and had handmade chocolates decorated in pink and orange polka dots and brocade patterns.

The food

The food was amazing and reflected Tuscan “fresh from the garden” style dishes. All the dishes were vegetarian, with the option of adding a serving of meat. We served a buffet since we had so many variety of eaters; this way everyone was satisfied. The vegetables all came from the on site organic gardens and everything was amazing. Truly the best wedding food I ever had!

In the main window the cake was framed with the arch we were married under.  We had framed photos of our parents cutting the cake at their own weddings placed next to the cake on the table .  I also made dove cake topper.

In the main window the cake was framed with the arch we were married under. We had framed photos of our parents cutting the cake at their own weddings placed next to the cake on the table . I made the dove and flower cake topper myself.

The trumpeter

We opted for a live band. They played jazzy styled party music. Our first dance was to Dean Martin’s “Ain’t That a Kick in the Head”.

Dancing

“My head keeps spinning
I go to sleep and keep grinning
If this is just the beginning, my life’s gonna be beautiful”

Save the Date

All wedding photos were taken by Visio Photography.

2 thoughts on “8 Years Ago Today…

  1. Pingback: A Nest of Robins – From Blue Eggs to Flight | Yonder Wild

Comments are closed.