Design & Decor / Domestics

Thanksgiving table

Thanksgiving table is set

Thanksgiving table is set

I like to entertain; and I like both formality and comfort.  When I hosted this years’ Thanksgiving Dinner for our small family of three (including a youngin’) and my two parents, I wanted us to be comfortable and easy.  I still, however, wanted to make the day feel special.  My tablescape here reflects a mix of those two styles.  I placed a formal charger under my porcelain china, but stacked the plates instead of placing them in their proper space.  I also used everyday drinking glasses for waters (instead of anything fancy that couldn’t be thrown in the dishwasher).  We used cloth napkins, as we do everyday, but I casually just slipped them into napkin holders instead of wasting time with intricate folding.  We kept the wine on the dining table, but I served the food from the nearby kitchen so we didn’t have to worry about (and wash) a million extra serving platters.  The meal was wonderful and the day felt both special and easy…winner, winner, turkey dinner.

